Measles: countries with an outbreak

Latest update: - Authors: Mieke Croughs, Ula Maniewski-Kelner

Countries with measles outbreak:

  • Africa: Angola, Benin, Burkina Faso, Burundi, Cameroon, Chad, Central African Republic, Congo (Brazzaville), Democratic Republic of the Congo, Ethiopia, Gabon, Ghana, Ivory Coast, Kenya, Liberia, Libya, Mali, Mauritania, Mozambique, Namibia, Niger, Nigeria, Saudi Arabia, Senegal, Sierra Leone, Somalia, South Africa, South Sudan, Sudan, Tanzania, Togo, Zambia and Zimbabwe
  • Asia: Afghanistan, India, Indonesia, Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Pakistan and Tajikistan
  • Europe: Armenia, Austria and Russia
  • Middle East: Bahrain, Iraq, Jordan, Kuwait, Lebanon, Qatar, Syria, Türkiye, United Arab Emirates and Yemen

This list is regularly updated on the basis of WHO and ECDC reports.



Check your vaccination before travelling to any of these countries unless you have had measles before. 

Early vaccination

Infants between 6 and 12 months who have not yet been vaccinated against measles should receive an extra early vaccination before they travel to any of these countries.

This early vaccine does not count as a full vaccination but offers short-term protection.
After this dose, they should receive two more vaccinations as planned in the standard vaccination schedule. 

Early second dose

For older children, it is recommended to advance the second dose.  This  early second vaccination counts as a second dose if it is administered at least one month after the first dose.


      This website requires cookies. Please accept or refuse these cookies first.
      For more info about our cookies, please read our cookies policy.